Skip to main content

Re-employ a past employee

You can re-employ a past employee so you can keep their original employment history separate and start a fresh employment record rather than undoing the termination.

Written by Relu

📌Note: If the employee is marked as Do Not Re-Employ following their termination, the Re-Employ button will be hidden. You must first remove the Do Not Re-Employ flag on the profile.

The ability to use the Re-Employ or Add Additional Employment buttons are controlled by the Employments permission.

It is useful to re-employ a past employee if they’ve already been processed as a leaver in payroll for example, exported for a P45. In that situation, reversing the termination can cause issues, so re-employing them on a new employment is the preferred approach.

You can re-employee an employee by following the steps below:

  1. Search for the employee using the organisation search and open their profile.

  2. Click the Re-Employ button which is located to the right of their name and employee number.

  3. Follow the process of the employment wizard and fill out all mandatory fields marked with a red asterisk *.

  4. Click Complete.

    • This will create a brand-new employment for the past employee on their existing profile.

📌Note: You will also need the Employments permission to approve ATS onboarding.

Did this answer your question?